VOICE OF THE PERSECUTED

Home » Christian Persecution News » Nabeel Qureshi: Apologist, Author and Convert from Islam Loses Battle with Cancer

Nabeel Qureshi: Apologist, Author and Convert from Islam Loses Battle with Cancer

United with the Persecuted

HELP CARE FOR THE PERSECUTED

Share their stories Knowledge is power!

One small voice cries out for the Persecuted Church

Archives


Dr. Nabeel Qureshi, Christian Apologist, speaker and convert from Islam

“The final marching orders of Christians are grace and love.” – Nabeel Qureshi

(Voice of the Persecuted) Dr. Nabeel Qureshi was a husband, father, American Christian apologist, public speaker and convert from Islam. He is the author of the New York Times bestselling Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity (February 2014), the only book ever to win Christian Book Awards for both “Best New Author” and “Best Nonfiction.” He also wrote two other highly rated books, Answering Jihad: A Better Way Forward (March 2016), and No God But One—Allah or Jesus (August 2016).

We learned Nabeel received a diagnosis of stage 4 stomach cancer on August 24, 2016, eleven years from the very day he acknowledged and received Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. Rather than being disheartened by this ‘coincidence’, Nabeel and his loved ones were deeply encouraged, trusting that this was a sign of divine meaning and purpose within the sovereign will of God.

Many of us prayed for this dear brother as he struggled in a pain filled, hard battle with cancer. At the age of 34, Nabeel lost this battle and passed on Saturday, September 16, 2017. We ask that you pray with us for his family, particularly his wife, Michelle and his toddler daughter, Ayah. In the name of our Lord may they all be comforted at this difficult time of deep grief.

About Nabeel 

Qureshi was born into a very devout Muslim family (immigrants from Pakistani). Nabeel, studied Islamic apologetics and engaged Christians in religious discussions. He met David Wood, a Christian, in college. They became friends and began a years-long debate on the historical claims of Christianity and Islam. This resulted in Qureshi’s conversion to Christianity which was chronicled in his first book, Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus.

Nabeel’s testimony

Nabeel was also a speaker with Ravi Zacharias International Ministries (RZIM). In May, though he was very ill and frail, Nabeel met with the ministry. He told them he came to say,  “Thank you. I love you all and if I have hurt anyone, I ask for forgiveness. Most important, my faith is stronger than ever in my Savior and whatever lies ahead, I will take it as God’s will.”

He also told them that he would no longer be speaking in public and at the end, he bid them a heartfelt farewell.

After the meeting, Ravi Zacharias wrote a message to Nabeel,

My dearest Nabeel, I love you, dear friend, and my heart aches to see you leaving this world so soon. But if it is of any comfort, you have so far lived the same number of years as our Lord and Redeemer. What is more, the world is a mess. We are still trapped by the fears of living in a world immersed in hate and living for matter, greed, pride, and violence. You will be freed to the joy of life where there are no more fears, no more tears, no more hate, no more bloodshed, because you will be with the One who has already shed his blood for you, where love is supreme, grace abounds, and the consummate joy is of the soul. The smile of God awaits you: “Well done.”

“Eye has not seen, ear has not heard, neither has entered into the heart of man, the things that God has prepared for them that love him,” 1 Corinthians 2:9 promises.

Your eyes will now see and your hands will now touch that which is the only Real estate. Farewell my dear Nabeel. If we don’t see you in the near future, we will see you in the eternal pasture.

Ravi called Nabeel one of the finest preachers he had ever heard, that he loved him as a son and walked with him as a colleague.

Nabeel shared on Facebook,

Dear Friends and Family,

This is an announcement that I never expected to make, but God in His infinite and sovereign wisdom has chosen me for this refining, and I pray He will be glorified through my body and my spirit. My family and I have received the news that I have advanced stomach cancer, and the clinical prognosis is quite grim. Nonetheless, we are going to pursue healing aggressively, both medical and miraculous, relying on God and the fact that He is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine.

In the past few days my spirits have soared and sank as I pursue the Lord’s will and consider what the future might look like, but never once have I doubted this: that Jesus is Lord, His blood has paid my ransom, and by His wounds I am healed. I have firm faith that my soul is saved by the grace and mercy of the Triune God, and not by any accomplishment or merit of my own. I am so thankful that I am a child of the Father, redeemed by the Son, and sealed in the Spirit. No, in the midst of the storm, I do not have to worry about my salvation, and for that I praise you, God.

Unfortunately this means I am no longer able to engage in traveling ministry for the time being. I am canceling almost all my speaking events, with a few exceptions. From this point on until such a time as the Lord might choose to heal me, I intend to blog or vlog about my journey with cancer, transparently offering my heart, thoughts, and struggles in case they might encourage others and glorify God. I will no longer be with Ravi Zacharias International Ministries, though it has been an absolute privilege to be on the team for the past 3 years. My third book, No God But One: Allah or Jesus?, launched today, and I still intend to write my next book, 20 Questions Muslims Ask and the Answers that Convert Them. Beyond that, the Lord knows.

Friends and family, may I ask you to fast and pray fervently for my healing? I do not profess to know the will of the Lord, but many of my close friends and confidants are convinced that this is a trial through which the Lord intends to bring me alive and refined. May His will be done, and may I invite you to seek Him in earnest, on your knees, fasting on my behalf, asking our Yahweh Rapha for healing in Jesus’ name.

And as you pray and fast, “I will rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death.” (Philippians 1:18-20)

For His Glory,
-Nabeel   (view Nabeel’s vlog here)

Nearing the end, Nabeel still had hope and prayed for a miracle. He concluded his prayer with;

“Lord, we know you are able. Please heal, please come through, but if it shouldn’t be Your will, your sovereign will at the end of the day, then I trust You, and I love You anyway. We praise You, Lord. We pray in Jesus’ name, Amen.”

On August 11, the doctors urgently removed Nabeel’s stomach, as it had been bleeding for weeks.

On Sept. 8 Nabeel revealed the sad news that the doctors had given up on any more treatment.

On Sept. 9, Nabeel shared with us for the last time through his Vlog on Youtube which was also shared on his Facebook page.


Kind and gentle, full of grace, humility and love, Nabeel brought hundreds of Muslims to Christ. Even unto death, his trust and love for God grew day by day. What a legacy he has left behind through his love and  ministry. What an example of strength in Christ our Lord. We are grateful to God for our brother Nabeel.

Until we worship the LORD together, you and your ministry will not be forgotten.

Below we’ve added the tribute video of photos and Nabeel’s funeral service (Sept. 21) titled, “A Celebration of Nabeel’s life”. (Note: service begins at minute marker 27:17)


For His glory

1 Comment

  1. Reality at the core of God’s Truth.

Leave a Reply

